2012: New Year, new things

18 Jan

Starting a blog is an odd thing, isn’t it? Getting those first few sentences out, feeling like a doofus for pretending that someone will read this when no one even knows it exists, trying to avoid all the cliches. I wonder if I have been successful?

I discovered the blogosphere last year, and now reading blogs is one of my many interests. Then I started wondering , did blogging have a place for ME? “Nah” I thought, “I don’t have the time,” etc etc. But last year, after Tilly’s blog on sewing productivity, I started making a note on what I did in my spare time, and while interesting it was hard to go back and make sense of. And so I have decided to try blogging to keep track of the creative things that take place in my life, so I can look back on what I have made, what I have experienced, and other cool things that occur across my vast range of creative outlets.

In keeping with the time of year, this new resolution to blog, and the trends out there in blog-land, this seems like the perfect time to document what other goals, plans, and dreams I have for 2012. I realise it’s a little later in the year than most, but hey, it’s my blog right?

  1. Stop buying for stash. I have a wild stash of assorted craft supplies (really, it’s huge) and I want to stop buying things just because I want them. But I acknowledge there’ll be a couple of exceptions (because sometimes it is really just too pretty).
  2. Start shopping FROM stash. I’m not pledging to to sew solely from stash – if a specific project needs something that I just don’t have, I’m gonna get it! But every project will start sewing primarily from stash. Well, almost every project.
  3. Overhaul my wardrobe. Every day I want to be wearing something I love, rather than simply getting dressed in order to avoid nudity and frostbite/sunburn. But I don’t actually have a very large collection of actual clothes (most of my “garment “spend is still languishing in stash). So over the year I want to get rid of the tatty things that I wear because I have to,  and replace them with things that make me happy to put on. I’m not swearing to only have me-mades in my wardrobe, or to never buy another garment – because there are some things out there that I do like – but in reality, to get a wardrobe full of things I love I’m going to have to make a lot of it.
  4. Don’t be afraid to make mistakes. I love the fabrics in my stash. Each of them is full of promise and expectation and wonder. And if I cut it and make it and it turns out to be a disaster, than all that promise is gone and I am left with rags. But – this fear holds me back from making and learning and wearing. I can’t wear them if I stuff it up – but I can’t wear it in stash either. So – I’m going to be bold. If that means losing a few pieces of fabric, then so be it!
  5. Talk and read about making stuff less and make stuff more. And this is not just limited to sewing – I want to emobroider more, knit more, dance more, bake more. Not sure how I’m going to do it! But enough excuses – get to it girl!

And those are just the sewing ones!

3 Responses to “2012: New Year, new things”

  1. Calico Stretch January 24, 2013 at 11:39 am #

    Cool a Wellington blogger and a crafter-sewer to boot! Hooray.

    Oh the stash front I know the feeling …. and on the tatty clothes front too …. and on the read less do more front. Oh hell, I couldn’t agree more 🙂

    • missjoiedevivre January 24, 2013 at 12:18 pm #

      Thanks heaps! Sorry I didn’t get to meet you on Sunday – we’ll rectify that at the next one 🙂

      • Calico Stretch January 24, 2013 at 12:29 pm #

        Pleasure and no worries – see you next time.

Leave a Reply

