The flame dress – fancy photo shoot

23 Nov

Wow, thanks to everyone for the fantastic comments on my last post! Considering that I’ve only just recently started posting, and sporadically at that, I didn’t really expect anyone other than my close personal friends to ever actually read it let alone comment. But then all the bloggerati showed up and said amazing things! And then the lovely Scruffy Badger went and mentioned it on her blog! Oh my goodness! It’s all a bit much to believe really. I came over positively faint. Really. So thank you everyone for your comments and kindness and for giving me the taste of the warm glow that comes from interacting with the blogging community. What awesome people.

I hope you don’t mind if I carry on with the theme. I thought of including these in the last post but decided that this story, and Sarah in particular, deserved its own separate bit of space.

As I’ve said before, I decided in my teens that I HATED being photographed and would happily spend the rest of my life avoiding cameras. And I succeeded in this for the next decade. Then something strange happened. Firstly, I decided that I wanted to have a few more photographic records of things as I realised that a decade with virtually no visual history was actually kind of sad. Secondly, I decided to confront a bunch of my fears and uncertainties head on and decided to include photos in that. Both of these meant making friends with cameras.

A professional photo shoot in 2010 broke my habit of running in terror when I see a camera lens pointed at me, meaning I started showing up in candid shots from social gatherings. But I still feel pretty awkward being photographed.

I got lucky and met Sarah shortly after my professional shoot. Sarah is amazing. As well as being kind, smart, and witty, she sews without fear, creates beautiful things, and is a very passionate and talented photographer to boot. And she’s actually a real astrophysicist or something like that. Sarah is the delightful friend who pinned flame appliques to my bodice, and then late at night tacked flames onto my flatmate’s shirt just because. She blogs her photos too.

Sarah quickly became the photography lynch pin in my amazing circle of friends (about to get their very own post) and between her camera and the amazing costumes my friends create there has been more than one photographed dress-up day.

I’ve found these awkward but have done my best to learn to get comfortable around the camera and Sarah has been great, letting me screen photos before she posted them. Sarah is keen to improve her portraiture, and I’m keen to progress from no longer being uncomfortable to actually being photogenic, so we decided between us to get together and practice. Photos from some of these shoots will show up soon!

Recently Sarah decided to hire a photography studio for an afternoon and get a lesson in using fancy-pants studio lighting. And she asked me to be her practice model for the day. And she asked me to wear the flame dress.

And she produced some amazing photos.

Trying to be ladylike

Is it just me or does this look like an old-fashioned school photo?

Trying to show off the skirt

A bit of leg

Playing with movement

I twirled so many times to capture it in a photo that I got dizzy

Rosie the riveter inspired

As well as these, Sarah took some arty photos of me in various costumes out of our mutual curiosity to play and experiment. This is one of my favourites.

I love how she created such amazing lighting, especially for her first time playing with fancy lights! Might be a bit of a naughty shot but it was all about skin and light and learning 🙂

She also kindly took some family shots of me with my mum and her partner, who were staying with me at the time. I don’t think there are many photos of me and my mum together, which is a shame as we are so close. I won’t share them as I don’t think Mum would approve!

Really, I can’t say thanks enough to Sarah for her time, her generosity, and her friendship. And these photos.

Now I’m awfully worried that I’ve set the bar too high and showing you all ordinary clothes in ordinary photos will be somewhat of a let down. I’ll do my best though!

8 Responses to “The flame dress – fancy photo shoot”

  1. Tanit-Isis November 23, 2012 at 11:34 pm #

    Congratulations on facing your cameraphobia! These look great. No, GREAT. A good photo shoot can be so much fun… 😀

    • missjoiedevivre November 24, 2012 at 5:53 am #

      Thanks! It really is fun! You know, after the terror subsides. 🙂

  2. Kat H November 24, 2012 at 8:25 pm #

    I love love love these photos!! Absolutely gorgeous. 🙂

  3. Roobeedoo November 27, 2012 at 7:51 pm #

    Hello there!
    You are a winner in my birthday giveaway!
    You won the Colette book 😀
    Please email me with your name and address and I will pop it in the post.
    My email: ruthmaclure (at) hotmail (dot) co (dot) uk

    • missjoiedevivre November 27, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

      EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!! That is precisely the sound I just made! How abso-freaking-lutely AWESOME! This requires lots and lots of exclamation marks!!!! THANKS SO MUCH!!!!

  4. Cation Designs November 29, 2012 at 10:27 pm #

    It takes a while, doesn’t it, to recover from adolescent camera-phobia? I’m so glad you shared these photos with us — I am in love with how that flame skirt looks in the motion pictures! You are absolutely gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

