WSBN Meet-up 3/2013: The St Paddy’s Day edition

25 Mar

On 17 March, the Wellington Sewing Bloggers Network (or WSBN!) organised another meet-up.

Eventually someone clever realised it was St Patricks day, but as that was just a coincidence we basically ignored it. I did have plans to finish a green necklace I’m making, but, you know how it is! That will show up here one day though.

We started with yum cha at Majestic. Standing at the traffic lights I caught a glimpse of a pretty teal colour and is my habit checked out the fabric before I even registered the person in it. But my brain suddenly twigged and I blurted out “I know that dress!” The head attached to the dress (because it turns out there was one) looked startled and then laughed in response and thus I met up with Holly before I’d even reached the venue.

Lunch was TASTY. There were dumplings (pork, prawn, fried, steamed, and assorted other combinations); deep fried things (chicken and squid) and pork bun things (steamed and not-steamed). But I was saving room for dessert… coconut buns and MANGO PUDDING! I was well behaved and only had one mango pudding as I didn’t want to give away the fact that I am a greedy guts in front of my new friends, but I could totally have eaten a second one. Maybe even made inroads on a third. My auxiliary dessert stomach is powerful.

There is no photo of my mango pudding. As Mel on one side and Nikki on the other took artful photos of their puddings, I was two thirds through inhaling mine. Self control? Photos? Whatevs. IT WAS FREAKING MANGO PUDDING! I am immune to your judging.

But better than mango pudding (and there’s a sentence I never thought I’d say) was the awesome company! You see, the WSBN is about bringing together people with three common elements. Living in Wellington. Sewing. And blogging/participating in the blogging community.

The name kind of says it all really.

And we’ve grown! What started with seven of us in December became eight of us in January and then we had 10 members by the time of the meet-up in February and now there are 16 members! And they’re an awesome bunch of people too!

And I got to meet a bunch of the new folk over prawn dumplings and mango pudding. Along with original members Kat, Nikki, and Mel, lunch included Sandra, Wendy, Nicola, and Holly, who are of course as fabulous as the folk I’ve already met.

After we’d finished our meal we waddled walked in a ladylike fashion to Made on Marion where we were joined by the fabulous Mrs C, The Dreamstress, Teresa, and Juliet. So then we were nearly complete! (Jo was sick and couldn’t make it unfortunately and Emily was otherwise booked up.)

At Made on Marion there was the exchange of goods that tends to take place. I took in two boxes of fabric and a huge box of patterns I’d picked up from a recycling forum, and many of the other girls brought in some treats too.

Just some of the patterns available, being picked over the Teresa and Sandra

Just some of the patterns available, being picked over the Teresa and Sandra. Photo courtesy Nikki. 

I came home with three patterns and a piece of fabric. There were two patterns I didn’t take but was tempted by, but I know where they’ve gone so I can hunt them down!

The patterns I picked up from the swap

The patterns I picked up from the swap. I love the line of the 70s jacket and love the neckline and peplum of the Style tops! And cutaway shoulders – have always enjoyed them.

The leopardish sating print I picked up in the swap. I'm thinking a fabulous jacket lining eventually!

The leopardish satin print I picked up in the swap. I’m thinking a fabulous jacket lining eventually!

There were some customised just-for-me treats too.

After I lusted all over Mel’s blog about her rainbow swallow fabric she offered to pick me some up from Spotties so she handed that over to much squealing on my part. Another friend of mine had put the word out for some embroidery thread so I’d in turn asked around and Holly kindly had a wee stash of threads and fabric for me. Juliet gave me the scaprs of her awesome pink zebra dress because I’d squealed all over the fabric. And many months ago both The Dreamstress and I had won a pattern on a Facebook giveaway by Kitty’s Drawings, and both had been posted to The Dreamstress, so she brought in mine to hand over. Isn’t it adorable! (And about a squillion sizes too small!)

I won it and now it's all mine!

I won it and now it’s all mine!

People thought I was being so well behaved, going home with only three patterns and one piece of fabric. Of course, what they didn’t realise was that I’d already gone through the box of patterns and kept these…

The patterns I kept from the box I got through the recycling group. I was trying to be restrained so I left at least this many again!

The patterns I kept from the box I got through the recycling group. In my defence some of them I kept because they are so hilariously bad.

And what about what people were wearing! Well, everyone was wearing something self-made! Apart from… me. BOO! I’d been hard at work over the weekend on finishing a lined pencil skirt but had taken some time off to catch up with friends and family. I was desperately trying to get it done and as I clock watched and stressed my Mechanic Man wisely said to me “is it more important to finish the skirt or to get there on time.” So no skirt there was.

By the time I conceded defeat I had the hem of my skirt lining left to finish, and that’s all! But with no time to hem there was also no time to change, so I wore jeans and a tee – pppp. Tragic. I did wear a thick slouchy cardi my mum knitted for me though, does that count?

But everyone else’s me-mades were fabulous! And I’ve since finished the skirt and washed the fabric for the next skirt…

The group! (Mostly)

The group! (Mostly). Photo courtesy Nikki’s camera but taken by someone else!

L-R, front to back: Wendy (in self-made blouse); Nikki(in self-made dress); Sandra (in self-made dress); Mel (in self-made dress); Teresa (in self-made dress); Nicola with baby Ash (in self-made shirt); Juliet (in self-made dress); The Dreamstress (in self-made tee); Holly (in self-made dress); Kat holding Drake (in self-made blouse) and me! In self-made nothing. And I’m not even wearing the mum-made cardi. Mrs C missed the photo as she was serving those pesky customers.

What an awesome day and what an awesome group of ladies! So enamoured are we of our little meet-up group that we’ve got a fancy button (created by Mel the Photoshop Wizard). Expect to see more meet-ups and we’ve got some fun games and challenges up our sleeve too!

Look! We have a button! Mel, you're awesome.

Look! We have a button! Mel, you’re awesome.

13 Responses to “WSBN Meet-up 3/2013: The St Paddy’s Day edition”

  1. Kat H March 25, 2013 at 9:40 pm #

    Oh, that moment where we raised our hands – who’s wearing something they made themselves? Ok, and who’s wearing something they finished this weekend? This morning? And now, who’s running late because they were desparately trying to finish something to wear? (Two hands got raised, if I remember correctly! 😉 Oh well, it was me the last two times, haha!)

  2. Calico Stretch March 25, 2013 at 9:55 pm #

    Oh damnit I have to have to have to come along next time. And to think I have never tried Mango Pudding nor had yum cha …. I know I haven’t lived. Sigh.

    Perhaps by next time I will actually be able to make something me made! Fingers crossed right?

    • missjoiedevivre March 26, 2013 at 2:20 pm #

      There will be more mango pudding! And although me-made is awesome, your company is what we missed the most 🙂

  3. Nikki March 26, 2013 at 3:23 am #

    Three mango puddings – piggy wig! Or had I eaten too many steamed BBQ pork buns? 🙂

    • missjoiedevivre March 26, 2013 at 2:21 pm #

      Two of the three were hypothetical mango puddings! Although there’s only one way to find out if it’s possible…

  4. kaitui_kiwi March 26, 2013 at 8:13 am #

    I laughed and giggled the whole way through this post, seriously, you are hilarious! Your meeting of Holly, MANGO PUDDING, customised treats, pesky customers! An expert wrap-up, hope you are feeling better xx

  5. Jo March 29, 2013 at 10:32 am #

    First, Ooh, pattern lust!
    Second, oh I was so GUTTED to have missed out, sounds like a blast! A delicious, delicious blast!
    I WILL make it next time! 🙂

    • missjoiedevivre March 29, 2013 at 5:37 pm #

      I believe you! Also, there are still some patterns here if we can get you to look at them before I donate them 🙂

  6. Zoe April 3, 2013 at 5:00 am #

    Oh it looked like you had a fabulous meet up! Those peplum 70s patterns you snared are ace, as is that shirt dress. Score! xx

    • missjoiedevivre April 4, 2013 at 11:02 pm #

      Thanks so much! I’ve been a fan of peplums much longer than they’ve been trendy 🙂

Leave a Reply

