FO and MOS 3/52: The seriously yellow pencil skirt

1 May

Being the terrible blogger that I am, I have a backlog of projects with no photos or posts to show for them; a backlog of drafts waiting for photos; and funnily enough some old photos that I never wrote anything to go with.

I had planned to tell all these stories in something resembling a sensible order, but this one got bumped to the head of the queue. Why? So that I could submit it to Cation Design’s stashbusting challenge for vibrant colours.

You see, my skirt, it’s yellow. Seriously yellow. Blindingly, happily, unashamedly yellow.

Outside a school in the inner city, with some amazing art etched into these support poles. paired with turquoise and navy becuase one vibrant colour is never enough. Photo courtesy Kat.

Outside a school in the inner city, with some amazing art etched into these support poles. paired with turquoise and navy becuase one vibrant colour is never enough. Photo courtesy Kat.

So, imagine if you will that I’ve already told you all about drafting my pencil skirt pattern from scratch (this one I actually wrote and WordPress ate it); and all about making my first skirt from it in a Mexican corazones hearts print; and you’ll just have to wait patiently (oh so patiently) until I actually do tell you those two stories.

So this, my second pencil skirt from my self-drafted pencil skirt pattern went together reasonably well. (Ok, fine, spoil the backstory post I have yet to release – the tutorial I followed is here).

It is made from cotton-with-a-hint-of-spandex sateen (one of my favourite fabrics) in yellow covered with a print of dragonflies, stars, and cursive French text in black and grey. This was actually a short turnaround from fabric to make – I think I bought this fabric in November or December! I was enticed by the vibrant yellow and just had to have it. Even though this is a short period (given my oldest stash fabric is 16 years old) it still fits my definition of stash – it was bought with no immediate project in mind and went into the cupboard for “later.”

Thank goodness for the kick pleat so I can bend my knees!

Thank goodness for the kick pleat so I can bend my knees! Also, what amazing school grounds to be right in the city. Photo courtesy Kat.

Overall, this was a fast make for me. I washed, dried, ironed the fabric, cut, and assembled it in the first three days of April, and THEN discovered that Cation’s challenge was vibrant colours! I was so pleased that I’d have this ready in time. But I had to wait for a while to hem it, then to get photos, then to write this up… you know how it goes! So hopefully I just get to slip it in, and I couldn’t have done it without Kat of Modern Vintage Cupcakes to take my photos.

Despite being a fast make, there were, as always, things to be learned along the way. After the hilarity of my first one (yeah, I know, telling it out of order, I’ll get there) I didn’t make any of those mistakes again. I made a whole new set though!

The pattern is straight forward, centre back lapped zip, facings, kick pleat, and it all came together well. This time I did a small sway back adjustment to my paper pattern after noticing that the waist on skirt-one sat high at the back. I did this by just dipping the waistline at the back from nothing at the waist to about 1.5cm at centre back. This has mostly worked really well, although it also appears to have resulted in my side seams now no longer being perpendicular to the floor and I have no idea why.

We found this fantastic old car parked in front of these brilliantly painted doors and decided that more colour was even better. Plus this shows how well this skirt fits my rear. Photo courtesy kat

We found this fantastic old car parked in front of these brilliantly painted doors and decided that more colour was even better. Plus this shows how well this skirt fits my rear. Photo courtesy kat

But, I don’t think I’ve ever combined a lapped zip with a facing. My other lapped zips have all had waistbands, and my faced skirts have all been invisible zips, both easy combos. On an invisible zip, it is really easy to fold the facing to the zip tape. I usually do this with machine and then turn, giving it a beautiful neat finish. But you can’t do this with a lapped zip as the facing would join to the overlap, neatly sandwiching the zip teeth and making them impossible to reach. I spent time Googling and poking at it and getting frustrated at the incomprehensible instructions online before I stuck with my normal facing method and sort of poked the facing out of the way when hand stitching it down. This has left a weird little tuck in the facing but I can wear it and that is what counts. The waist is a little uneven at the very top of the zip but I couldn’t quite get it any better and I’ve decided I don’t care. I did add a wee hook and eye to ensure that there is no gaping at the top of the zip.

Unlike skirt-one which had a vent, this time I tried a kick pleat. I’ve since decided that this wasn’t the best idea as the sateen doesn’t hold a neat crease at the edge of the pleat so it just sort of sits open in a weird way. I might top stitch a pleat into it to give it some definition or open it out into a vent. Or maybe I won’t. Whatever. It was perfectly easy to make though, so yay for making my first kick pleat!

Finally, skirt one, despite being drafted with some wearing ease, was very snug fitting. So, thinking I had learned from that I sewed this one with an extra centimetre at each side seam. But after wearing it once or twice I discovered that this was too much and painstakingly took it back in to the original size. I am not sure if the different in comfort and fit between the two is because this is a stretch fabric where version one was a solid cotton, or if it’s because I forgot to interface the facing (sigh). The reduction in side seam was perhaps the most difficult part of the whole make – I had to unpick the hand stitching where I’d anchored the facing to the side seams, unpick the under stitching on the facing, unpick the facing from the skirt, unpick the turned-up edge on the facing and unpick the overlocking that I’d turned up, take in the facing, take in the side seam, re-overlock the side seam allowances, re-overlock the edge of the facing, re-turn up the edge of the facing, reattach the facing, and re-understitch the facing. I have yet to re-anchor it to the side seams with a couple of rehand restitches.

Totally worth it. It fits so much better now!

Aiming for a pin-up look. Pencil skirts always make me feel slinky. Photo courtesy Kat.

Aiming for a pin-up look. Pencil skirts always make me feel slinky. Photo courtesy Kat.

I also took advantage of the time I spent dicking around with it to peg the skirt, so it tapers from hip to hem. This worked great although there is now a tiny bit of puckering on the side seam that there wasn’t before. But only I can tell (I hope) and I definitely prefer the pegged shape.

Because I drafted this I did something odd with the hip curves and so the hem doesn’t quite match up, so I decided to get it levelled from the ground up and the awesome Sarah and I did a levelling swap (I did the hem on her amazing Victorian skirt). This has resulted in a really weird hem when lying flat; the back is about 3 or 4 cm longer in the centre back than the centre front. Worried that this wasn’t right, I conned Mechanic Man into double checking it and got the thumbs up. So I tried on a RTW skirt that I have and got him to check that. Sure enough, even though the RTW skirt is perfectly level when flat, when on it is shorter in the back than the front. Levelling for the win!

This made me think though about skirts with interesting hem details like gores or godets (my RTW has box pleats the whole way round). One couldn’t really level that from the floor up as the features would all end up out of whack. Then again, I’ve never noticed that my RTW skirt looks terribly odd being longer in the front than the back either. So I’ve decided that all featureless skirts will get levelled from the ground up, and any featured skirts will be hemmed on the flat on the basis the differential isn’t that noticeable, I hope. We shall see anyway!

Vital statistics
Pattern: self drafted
Year: now
Fabric: cotton spandex sateen from Global Fabrics in Wellington
Notions: zip, thread, hook and eye, and forgotten interfacing
Made when: April 2013
Techniques used: lapped zipped and incorrect facing method,
Stash duration: about 4 months
Wearability: comfy, bright, fits my aesthetic love it – it will get lots of wear.
What I learned: don’t forget to interface your facing; a sway back adustment might mess up your side seam angle; the amount of stretch in cotton spandex sateen might be enough to require less wearing ease than an identical skirt in non stretch fabric
Unsolicited compliments: so many at Fabric-a-brac I started to blush!

I do love this old car! Photo courtesy Kat.

I do love this old car! Photo courtesy Kat.

My only remaining gripe is that I think I would have liked it longer, but this was as long as I could get. So overall, I’m pretty pleased with this, and expect to see some more vibrant pencil skirts soon!

23 Responses to “FO and MOS 3/52: The seriously yellow pencil skirt”

  1. Gjeometry May 2, 2013 at 6:48 am #

    Ah, seriously yellow, seriously fabulous and looks seriously fantastic with that pale blue colour!!

    • missjoiedevivre May 2, 2013 at 11:31 am #

      Why thanks very much! 🙂 I do like yellow and all varieties of turquoise and icy blue together, it’s like sunflowers against the sky!

  2. kaitui_kiwi May 2, 2013 at 9:34 am #

    Looking fabulous Joy! Love the location shoot, suits your super happylicous skirt perfectly! Seriously!

    • missjoiedevivre May 2, 2013 at 11:32 am #

      Thanks heaps 🙂 Kat spotted the location with her eagle eye, although the car was hard to miss!

  3. Nessa May 2, 2013 at 9:36 am #

    What a fantastic use of the lovely yellow fabric! Super location too.

  4. MrsC (Maryanne) May 2, 2013 at 7:56 pm #

    If you bring me the skirt or wear it for a visit, I”ll see if I can suss this sway back adjustment. Love this skirt and haven’t seen it in person yet!

  5. Jo May 3, 2013 at 2:23 pm #

    Well done! Such an eye popping colour, and umm, can I borrow your confidence? lol 🙂 So sad I missed seeing it at Fabricabrac! 🙂

    • missjoiedevivre May 3, 2013 at 7:38 pm #

      Thanks! Confidence in wearing yellow? You’re welcome to it, if you really want it! 🙂

      We missed you at Fabric-a-brac too, looking forward to catching up soon!

  6. Nikki May 3, 2013 at 5:11 pm #

    Oh wow! Super sexy lady 🙂 Love it. Are you sure you didn’t just flag down the driver of that car so you could take the photos?

    • missjoiedevivre May 3, 2013 at 7:39 pm #

      Thanks!

      I didn’t but that is a fantastic idea for next time… 🙂

  7. Holly May 3, 2013 at 9:14 pm #

    I love the skirt, the colour is amazing.

  8. Tanit-Isis May 5, 2013 at 12:56 am #

    That is an awesome skirt! I think the size difference was definitely a stretch issue, although stabilizing the waistband, by interfacing or adding twill tape, would have helped a bit, too.

    Anyway, it looks great, and a great photo shoot, too. 😀

    • missjoiedevivre May 5, 2013 at 6:03 pm #

      Thanks! 🙂

      I can’t believe I forgot interfacing, I may retro-fit some in there. But you’ve made me think it might be in part the other way around as well – the first skirt which was so much snugger was also much more firmly stabilised at the waist. Will figure it out on skirt three I hope!

  9. Clipped Curves May 28, 2013 at 6:47 pm #

    Oh wow, that skirt is fab! I like it so much.
    I was trawling the web for bright pencil skirts as I’m considering a peacock green one to go with my latest blouse make but I wasn’t sure of the look – bright on the bottom half.

    • missjoiedevivre May 29, 2013 at 10:39 am #

      Thanks so much! 🙂

      DO IT! Bright pencil skirts are fun and happy and peacock green sounds wonderful!

  10. macstabby June 4, 2013 at 12:51 am #

    Those colors together are faboo, and I love the pin-up shot with that super sexy car!

    • missjoiedevivre June 4, 2013 at 4:50 pm #

      Thanks so much! It was super fun – if only I conveniently found sexy cars every time I needed one for photos!

  11. Roobeedoo June 4, 2013 at 9:53 pm #

    Ooh – that is fabulous! I love the zingy lemoniness and the shapeliness 😀
    It makes sense for it to be longer at the back when “at rest” because when you are in it, your booty fills out the fabric and lifts it up at the back. My problem with Ginger skirts sewn as per the pattern is that I have a flat bottom so my hem hangs lower at the back than the front, because I don’t have enough shape to lift it…

    • missjoiedevivre June 4, 2013 at 9:56 pm #

      We certainly do all curve in different ways! That’s why I love levelling from the ground up. Levelling buddies are the best!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Deer and Doe Reglisse – More sunshine and happy thoughts… | The Amazing Adventures of Taracat - May 13, 2013

    […] Miette skirts, Lauren’s pencil skirt with a twist, and I am absolutely in love with this skirt by A Charm of Magpies. Yellow, Dragonflies, stars, what more do you […]

Leave a Reply

