FO and MOS 6-7/52: turquoise and denim skirts remakes

11 Aug

Originally when I knew Mum was coming to stay for a week I thought “excellent, a day or two to finish my costume and then we’ll do heaps of other stuff!” Of course, that didn’t pan out… the costume took so much work! But we still squeezed in some other fun stuff while we were together.

One of the things I managed to do was to refashion two me-made skirts that have been sitting in my repairs bin since last September, when Mum was last staying with me and helped me do a serious wardrobe audit.

The first is an A-line skirt made from dark blue denim covered in an oxblood red velvet flocking. I made the skirt back in about 2002 (yep, over 10 years ago!) from Butterick 3220.

Butterick 3220

Butterick 3220

It was one of the first things I made for myself after years of making Mum sew for me and I was pretty pleased with it (although I don’t think I did the zip myself but I can’t remember who did!) But I didn’t wear it often and I didn’t know why. I finally figured out last year that the body of the denim meant that the A-line retained its A shape, as opposed to falling into fullness the way drapey A-lines do; and that the shape of the skirt standing out from my body did not please me. So I decided to peg it.

Doesn't really show how unflattering this was, largely because Mum took it at night and I was wearing all black with it and the light in my sewing room is awful. You'll just have to trust me that it wasn't good and several people agreed.

Doesn’t really show how unflattering this was, largely because Mum took it at night and I was wearing all black with it and the light in my sewing room is awful. You’ll just have to trust me that it wasn’t good and several people agreed.

First I tried the skirt on and pinned to mark the hip. Then I turned the skirt inside out, measured in from each side seam about 6 cm, and connected this in a straight line to the hip point with chalk.

Because the skirt was A-line, it had no vents or splits, so my plan was to convert the side seams into splits by simply not sewing my new side seam all the way to the bottom, and then cut the old side off, leaving an open seam at the bottom in which to make a split. I’d press the seam allowances flat on the split and top stitch over them. But I wanted to check the amount of taper before cutting off the excess but after sewing in my new seam lines. So I sewed the new side seam, following my chalk, to within a few centimetres of the bottom.

I put the skirt on and discovered something. Completely unintentionally, my new seam had turned the excess fabric at the hem into kick pleats! So taken was I with this that I decided to leave the kick pleats in place. I top stitched a line of angled stitching as is traditional in a kick pleat and trimmed off the excess seam allowance, and it was pretty much done! The only thing I decided to do was to add a row of tiny edge stitches to each pleat to make it nice and crisp, and the result was so nice that yes, I will go back and do this to my yellow skirt.

It’s still not really the ideal shape for my preferences, as I am still learning what I like on me, but now I have a new skirt with a nifty design feature that I’m happy to wear while I work on making things that are even better. And the first day I wore it to work, I got some lovely comments. I’d call that a win!

New and improved skirt. I'm standing on a bit of wood so my heels don't sink into the ground. Yes, I had to wear heels.

New and improved skirt. I’m standing on a bit of wood so my heels don’t sink into the ground. Yes, I had to wear heels.

I like hats but I don't wear them often. I should wear them more.

I like hats but I don’t wear them often. I should wear them more.

Trying some saucy poses. Hmm.

Trying some saucy poses. Hmm.

Nicely fitted through the seat.

Nicely fitted through the seat.

Drawing your attention to my unique kick pleats on my side seams.

Drawing your attention to my unique kick pleats on my side seams.

A close up of the kick pleat. You can see the original side seam forms one edge of the pleat and if you look really closely you can see the angled top stitching.

A close up of the kick pleat. You can see the original side seam forms one edge of the pleat and if you look really closely you can see the angled top stitching.

The second skirt was a straight pencil skirt that I made about three years ago from Vogue 8425 (View A) and wore it heaps. The pattern came together perfectly easily. I did toile it when I made it, and made some alterations to it but I can’t remember what they were! It was a fast and easy make and I will make it again someday. I’m also dead keen to do View C with that awesome built in belt thing.

But despite getting lots of wear out of it, I also decided in my wardrobe audit that I prefer tapered hems as more in keeping with my aesthetic and so this went into my repairs box for a spruce up.

Vogue 8425

Vogue 8425

It is made in a turquoise mystery fabric with a white slub. My awesome brothers gave me the fabric for my birthday in about 2005ish because they know I’m crazy about turquoise! At the time they were only about 12 and 10 years old, and they picked the fabric out themselves. It was bought from a shop that along with new fabric off the bolt sold fabric from deceased estates, which this one was, so I have no idea how old it is or what it is made from, but I do know my brothers know me well.

My attempt at a before shot. Also taken at night in bad lighting. Toughen up and deal with it.

My attempt at a before shot. Also taken at night in bad lighting. Toughen up and deal with it.

Another super easy fix! Because it was already a pencil skirt it had a rear vent, so all I had to do was take in the sides. To do so I marked my hip, mark my reduced distance at the hem, unpicked the hem at the side seam, connected in a straight line with chalk, and then sewed it in! A bit of hand sewing to re-hem the side seam and a favourite skirt updated to be even more favourite and released back into circulation.

And after, neatly pegged at the hem.

And after, neatly pegged at the hem.

I love this colour so am very happy to have this skirt back in rotation!

I love this colour so am very happy to have this skirt back in rotation!

Again, nicely fitted through the rear.

Again, nicely fitted through the rear.

Wellington wind and it's fine hair-helping best.

Wellington wind at it’s fine hair-helping best.

Like all things though, getting photos, especially in winter, is a hassle. Luckily as we ease towards spring we’ve been getting some great sunny days, and a couple of weeks ago I was lucky enough to host both Jo of Making it Well and Grace of Miss La Belle’s House of Burlesque for an afternoon of crafting and company. Jo had volunteered her amazing camera to take some photos of me, and Grace volunteered her superior experience in dancing and modelling to try and teach me how to stand so that I don’t look as much like a numpty in photos. Did it work? No idea. Did we have fun? SO MUCH FUN! Grace had all three of us giggling and carrying on as she directed the photo shoot. All photo shoots should be this fun!!!

When photoshoots go crazy. You should see the ones I didn't show you. Wait, that doesn't even make sense.

When photo shoots go crazy. You should see the ones I didn’t show you. Wait, that doesn’t even make sense.

This one is actually one of my favourite photos!

This one is actually one of my favourite photos!

I am so pleased with my two “new” skirts! Now to tackle the approximately one gazillion other remakes and repairs in my repairs box…

24 Responses to “FO and MOS 6-7/52: turquoise and denim skirts remakes”

  1. Jo August 11, 2013 at 9:49 pm #

    Amazing skirts and ’twas an honour to photograph you! Urgh I totally need an aqua skirt, yours is stunning. So glad you could get these skirts working for you!

    • missjoiedevivre August 12, 2013 at 6:29 pm #

      Thanks so much, and it was so fun having you over. You’d look gorgeous in an aqua skirt, do it!

  2. 1107nikki August 11, 2013 at 9:52 pm #

    These are fab sexy lady! I thought I liked the first skirt the best but now I’m not so sure. That turquoise is so cheerful.

    • missjoiedevivre August 12, 2013 at 6:29 pm #

      Aww, thanks! 🙂 Turquoise ALWAYS makes me happy 🙂

  3. Kat H August 11, 2013 at 10:31 pm #

    Great skirt touch-ups! And I loooove the pics – you look like you guys had heaps of fun! 😀

  4. thedreamstress August 11, 2013 at 10:49 pm #

    Oooh..what you did to the first skirt is so clever! Kick pleats are way cooler than just vents! I really liked the aqua skirt on you even before, but I’m so pleased that you fully love it now!

    Also, I’m so pleased that you’re now commenting on my blog with a link back so that I can follow it ❤

    • missjoiedevivre August 12, 2013 at 6:30 pm #

      Aww, thanks so much! Yeah, I commented on a desktop which makes it so much easier to include my details. Glad you like it over here!

  5. Sandra August 11, 2013 at 11:13 pm #

    Well done on the fixes… I think I have a few of these jobs still hanging in my wardrobe. I love the teal with the high waist.

    • missjoiedevivre August 12, 2013 at 6:32 pm #

      Thanks 🙂 And I have heaps still to go, don’t you worry! It’s so nice to get them done though.

  6. Gjeometry August 12, 2013 at 4:44 pm #

    Lovely skirt re-do’s, you look fantastic! Your pics look like a lot of fun, as well.

  7. Teresa Buckthought August 12, 2013 at 7:16 pm #

    Great fixes – isn’t amazing how a few small changes can make something so much more amazing. Also I agree – you SHOULD wear hats more, you look awesome in a hat. Also I wish my brothers would buy me fabric!

    • missjoiedevivre August 16, 2013 at 1:06 pm #

      Thanks heaps! It’s a deal, I’ll wear more hats.

      And I’m sure you could train your brtohers! Although, my mum may have taken them in there in the first place 🙂

  8. Calico Stretch August 12, 2013 at 8:05 pm #

    Two goodies – nice one Joy. I have to say I do really like the shot with your hair going vertical! It looks like you’re about to take off. Or have landed. LOL.

    • missjoiedevivre August 13, 2013 at 6:09 pm #

      Haha, it really does! I’ll have to get an astronaut name 🙂

  9. Sandra August 12, 2013 at 10:07 pm #

    I’m so impressed with your re-fashioning of me-mades. I soooo don’t have the patience! Love your photo shoot 🙂

  10. thecuriouskiwi August 14, 2013 at 12:24 pm #

    I love your photos, it looks like you had heaps of fun (a great set of heels helps too huh?!) and it’s always nice to rescue older creations and give them a new life! 🙂

    • missjoiedevivre August 16, 2013 at 1:07 pm #

      Thanks heaps! Grace was very authorative about what heels I was and wasn’t allowed to wear. No unattractive shoes on her watch!:)

  11. Scruffy Badger August 31, 2013 at 6:17 pm #

    You’ve got it ! The style of those skirts is super flattering on you & I love the details that make them “more than just” the basic skirt. Neat pics too – my fave is the hair-raising one!!

    PS I’ve been searching for your blog on bloglovin under the wrong name (ie missjoiedevivre) so am pleased to have got it sussed now. I will see all your posts come in now 🙂

    • missjoiedevivre August 31, 2013 at 7:19 pm #

      Ahh, sorry to confuse you! Missjoiedevivre is what I used as an online handle before I had a blog and I’ve kept up the practice, sorry about that! I’m so glad you’ve found me – I’ll have to post something to reward you!

      Thanks for the lovely comments on my skirts! 🙂

  12. theperfectnose September 7, 2013 at 1:10 pm #

    Nice! I like the fabrics you’ve used on both skirts and the hat is definitely a yes.

Leave a Reply

