New toys!

23 Sep

Mechanic Man has always been supportive of my interests, as I’ve been of his. But lately he was getting worried that I don’t get to indulge in new toys as often as he does.

My sewing machine is a 30 year old Pfaff that my grandmother won, then gave to my aunt, who then gave it to my mum, who then gave it to me about 12 years ago. My overlocker is about 13 or 14 years old and my mum gave it to me at the same time as she gave me the Pfaff. I’ve never owned a new machine.

So two weeks ago while the two of us were out he took me to Sewing Machine Services in Petone and this happened.

Mechanic Man carrying my brand new Janome 4120 QDC, and Hugh from Sewing Machine Services, just after buying it.

Mechanic Man carrying my brand new Janome 4120 QDC, and Hugh from Sewing Machine Services, just after buying it.

Yep, I bought a new sewing machine, a Janome 4120QDC and I am pretty stoked!

Then the following weekend I took my overlocker in for a look over to see how much work was needed to get it going well again.

And the the weekend after that I went back again to hear the verdict and this happened.

Mechanic Man carrying my new Elna 664 Pro overlocker, again with Hugh of Sewing Machine Services

Mechanic Man carrying my new Elna 664 Pro overlocker, again with Hugh of Sewing Machine Services

That’s a new Elna 664 Pro overlocker. Yep, in two weeks I bought two new machines. ย Thanks to Hugh at Sewing Machine Services in Petone, a great wee place if you’re in the market for a new machine!

None of this was really planned. But I’m very excited about it all! The very first new machines I’ve ever owned! And who knows – I might end up waiting another 12 years until I replace these ones!

My Janome set up in it's space

My Janome set up in its space

My Elna set up and waiting

My Elna set up and waiting

Now I need a name for them… I’m thinking Fred and Ginger but I’m not sold on it yet! Maybe Gene and Rita, or Danny and Sandy. I’ll figure it out…

My fabulous new toys waiting patiently

My fabulous new toys waiting patiently

I’m keeping my Pfaff as it goes great and it’ll be good to have a backup but I traded my old Elna in towards my new Elna. My original Elna actually did pretty much everything my new one does, as it was quite fancy in its day, so although the new one is easier to set up and configure buying it was really just getting caught up in the fun of new shiny things (and I feel a bit guilty about it). But the Janome has bells and whistles my Pfaff couldn’t even conceive of. Highlights are the one step buttonhole and the lock stitch (which automates back stitching at the beginning and end of the seam) but my real favourite feature is the cut button, which neatly cuts both threads with a touch.

Yep, I’m easily entertained.

Speaking of, as an added bonus, these were in the side street that we parked in.

This was painted on the building next to where we parked

This was painted on the building next to where we parked

And this was painted across the street! The "war" tag is someone else's addition though, it wasn't there the first time I saw this.

And this was painted across the street! The “war” tag is someone else’s addition though, it wasn’t there the first time I saw this.

8 Responses to “New toys!”

  1. Sandra September 23, 2013 at 11:56 pm #

    Now that is what I call shopping! I so need a new overlocker but I figured one new machine a year was more than enough. Enjoy your new machines ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Juliet September 24, 2013 at 10:08 am #

    Bonny and Clyde! Bonny and Clyde! I have Betty – the sewing machine – and the overlocker is called Locklan. But Locklan and I do not like each other, so he lives with my Mum!

    • missjoiedevivre September 24, 2013 at 2:32 pm #

      Haha, fabulous! I’m leaning more and more towards Sandy and Danny, cos then I can call my Pfaff Rizzo.

      I’m sure you and Locklan could learn to get along with some time alone, maybe a movie or a some nice music…

  3. Teresa Buckthought September 24, 2013 at 7:01 pm #

    So much excitement – I hope you’re new machines are going just super. I vote for Fred & Ginger ๐Ÿ˜€

    • missjoiedevivre September 24, 2013 at 7:02 pm #

      Thanks heaps ๐Ÿ™‚ You can see then next time you come over!

  4. tworandomwords September 28, 2013 at 2:32 pm #

    Ohh I never thought about naming my machines! I had just settled on a name for my dress form before I sold her, so maybe I’m a bit traumatised from that….

    This is definitely the kind of shopping I’d like my husband to encourage… he did once tell me “it sounds like you need a machine that embroiders for you” which I wholeheartedly agree with, but can’t afford to spend $4000 on..

    • missjoiedevivre October 13, 2013 at 7:45 pm #

      Ah, I’d love an embroidery machine one day too! It’s always good to have things to aspire too…

Leave a Reply

