FO: Peggy Sue slouch beanie

11 Jun

So, an awesome combination of things happened Sunday before last.

  • It was insanely sunny and warm, especially given it was the first day of Winter as we do our seasonal reckoning
  • My talented photographer friend Sarah visited me
  • She brought her camera
  • She agreed to take lots of photos.

And lots of photos were taken of lots of things! So I can finally catch up on masses of unblogged creations!

I’m going to start you off with something simple. Some awesome knitting.

It was really really REALLY bright. I'm avoiding looking at the sun at all costs.

It was really really REALLY bright. I’m avoiding looking at the sun at all costs.

Well, mostly awesome knitting.

After finishing my Peggy Sue cardigan, I had some yarn leftover and wanted to do something simple while I mentally laboured over the planning for my next cardigan (which I’ve now just finished too!) So I grabbed a simple knitted-flat-and-seamed beanie pattern and cast on. I didn’t bother swatching, just sized up the same way I had for Peggy Sue, and got into it.

Arrrgh I need to trim my fringe!

Arrrgh I need to trim my fringe!

I did have to frog quite a bit on my first attempt as I missed the itty-bitty-but-really-important piece of text that said “knit in stocking until it measures 16cm” and so I started my shaping immediately after the rib band, resulting in something a little like a yarmulke, whoops! But after ripping back the shaping and checking the pattern, I was away.

I’m not sure I was very good at measuring the 16cm though, because this has happened.

Do I have short head? Can I not measure? Is it a typo? Regardless, this is not what I was expecting!

Do I have short head? Can I not measure? Is it a typo? Regardless, this is not what I was expecting!

I wasn’t frogging it a second time though, so I’ve decided that it’s not a beanie, it’s a slouch hat, and the extra height is perfect for going over my pony tail. Sometimes in the wind it slides down into my eyes, so I’m just going to have to wear it with a bobby pin or two to secure it at a jaunty angle.

image

I could fix it by wearing it with the brim turned up

Normally my blog posts have lots and lots of words (so much so that the next post I’m drafting I’ve had to split into two) but somehow this one doesn’t warrant it. Consider it a reprieve until my next overly wordy post appears!

image

Or maybe I'll just wear it like this!

11 Responses to “FO: Peggy Sue slouch beanie”

  1. Kat H June 11, 2014 at 7:46 pm #

    Oh, cute hat! Love that colour on you 🙂

    Amazing photos as well! I’m looking forward to see the other ones you guys took 🙂

    • missjoiedevivre June 12, 2014 at 3:00 pm #

      Thanks! I’ll try and get some more out very soon! 🙂

  2. Sandra June 11, 2014 at 8:04 pm #

    I love the photos they are great. Cannot wait to see all the posts flooding in.

    • missjoiedevivre June 12, 2014 at 3:01 pm #

      Thanks 🙂

      Well, maybe not flooding, I’ve still gotta write and post the beggars!

  3. tworandomwords June 11, 2014 at 9:05 pm #

    AHAHA I love the photos, and now I’m just hoping that those are overalls that you’re wearing (I love overalls).

    • missjoiedevivre June 12, 2014 at 3:02 pm #

      Thanks 🙂

      But I’m sorry to report they’re not overalls. They are however The World’s Oldest UFO. Details pending… 🙂

  4. Jo June 14, 2014 at 2:51 pm #

    Looking forward to seeing the next posts! Finding the right circumstances for getting photos can be a real pain so well done! The hat looks so cozy. I can see you pinning something pretty to it too if you wanted to dress it up! 🙂 but even without it’s a winner 🙂

    • missjoiedevivre June 14, 2014 at 2:57 pm #

      Photos are the hardest, for sure.

      Thanks very much! I’ve thought of adding something to it, but I’m not sure what yet… Will ponder 🙂

  5. treesinnz June 22, 2014 at 10:27 am #

    So I love that hat on you – its pretty much the greatest hat ever. I’m waiting in anticipation for the blogging of the worlds oldest UFO 😀

Leave a Reply

