FO: retro rogue shrug

8 Jul

Another set of photos from my fabulous Sarah, I don’t know how I’d blog without her!

My mum was doing a big clear out of yarn recently (honestly, her yarn stash could clothe a small nation, if it were ever knitted up. I look at my stash and see the apple didn’t fall far from the tree) and she decided to give me some, unbeknownst to me. So imagine my delight when A skein and a bit of beautiful teally blue Cascade Eco Plus 12-ply yarn turned up at my house! How very exciting!

I was between projects and decided a quick 12-ply small project was just what I needed, so I hit Ravelry and found the Retro Rogue tucked away in my favourites.

Remember all bedroom eyes are courtesy of the sun.

Remember all bedroom eyes are courtesy of the sun. You can just see here above my underarm the decrease row.

As the yarn was a skein and a tiny bit, I weighed the small bit and did some simply math to see how much yardage there was, and was disappointed to find out that I was short. But Mama Magpie, being cleverer than me, suggested I do the same for the full skein as sometimes they’re over the marked weight, and sure enough, it was, and it meant I had just enough yardage! I was delighted and cast on.

The colour is slightly deeper than this, the intense sun has lightened it up a lot.

The colour is slightly deeper than this, the intense sun has lightened it up a lot.

As I was travelling and wanted to take this with me, and didn’t want to run the risk of loosing the little ball, I cast on with that and joined the big ball in after only about a dozen rows. The pattern is super easy. The whole thing is 2×2 rib, with one row of decreases very cleverly done so that it remains 2×2 rib afterwards. It is basically a giant cross shape, with 8 stitches cast on at each end part way through and then the same cast off to create the “arms” of the cross, which in turn become the sleeves. It is folded in half at the end into a T shape and seamed up the sides, and tadah!

The whole thing took me about 2 weeks and being 12-ply required very little actual knitting time. I did realise at one point I’d stuffed up a stitch in the rib and had to drop down about 30 rows to fix it, but it was worth it, and other than that it was the easiest thing Β have ever knitted. The yarn is really smooshy and snuggly too.

You can see the little sleeves more clearly here.

You can see the little sleeves more clearly here.

I did have one irritation with it though. Although I made no modifications to it at all I used less yardage for my size than it called for. How do I know this? Because I ended up with a much bigger bit leftover than I expected. In fact, the part skein I finished with was bigger than the part-skein in the original parcel. Yep. I could have made the whole thing out of the full skein and wouldn’t have had to join and weave in the ends. Argh!

The other thing is that my sleeves appear to be a bit shorter than some of the models on Ravelry, but I think I’ll cope with this. Now I just need to work out how best to wear it!

This photo is technically an outtake, but I just kinda like it.

This photo is technically an outtake, but I just kinda like it. Plus it shows the underarm seam!

If you’re looking for a for a quick satisfying knit this is a great project, let me know if you try it out!

14 Responses to “FO: retro rogue shrug”

  1. Sandra July 8, 2014 at 11:17 pm #

    This is a cute quick make. I love the colour

  2. Jo July 9, 2014 at 4:35 pm #

    The feeling of ribbing knitted in a chunky yarn is just so squishy and delicious! This is great and I hope you get lots of wear out of it. Such a good colour for you πŸ˜€

    • missjoiedevivre July 9, 2014 at 4:55 pm #

      Thanks so much! And it’s certainly 10/10 on the squishiness scale πŸ™‚

  3. Scruffybadger July 9, 2014 at 6:22 pm #

    Well, what a success!!! An all round good make ( translated that means something I might even consider myself!) and looks super stylish with a nice vintage vibe and love the colour. Suits you hugely!!

    • missjoiedevivre July 9, 2014 at 6:27 pm #

      Thanks so much for your kind words! And if you knit even a little bit this is a great project, it’s so fast and easy! Maybe I’ll see if on you one day πŸ™‚

  4. thecuriouskiwi July 14, 2014 at 7:20 pm #

    I am slowly catching up after no blog reading for aaaages πŸ˜‰ Your recent post photos have been gorgeous, you are lucky to have such a talented friend in Sarah but of course it also helps that your makes are so fabulous and I am always in awe of everyone’s kitting. Your shrug is such a beautiful colour xx

  5. treesinnz July 20, 2014 at 4:00 pm #

    This is just beautiful Joy – the colour is perfect on you!

  6. laulipopnz July 29, 2014 at 7:39 am #

    totally catching up on no blog reading in AGES and this is the first post I read!
    LOVE IT, well done!

  7. Adrienn September 11, 2015 at 10:15 pm #

    Accidently found this pattern, I’d like to knit something quick.
    I just have a little problem in figuring out the exact shape of this shrug. I thought that is knitted in one piece!
    First I should knit the back, right? Then How the sleeves are done?
    Could any please help me out?
    Thanks a lot! πŸ™‚
    Adrienn

    • missjoiedevivre September 11, 2015 at 11:16 pm #

      Yes, it’s knitted in one piece! It’s shaped like a plus sign, +, when you’re done knitting. You cast on extra stitches part way through to make the arms of the plus, and then bind them off again after a few rows to go back to the original width. You fold the plus in half and seam up each side to make the garment, in an L shaped seam. The arms of the plus become the sleeves.

      The pattern is very simple follow and it works very well! If you follow it along it’ll make sense at the end! Good luck.

Leave a Reply

